From General comments to Inbox: who sees what in a proofing workflow?
Besides literally starting a message thread with a project manager from a job info page, there is another step in Plint workflows which will automatically launch aan Inbox message thread with the project manager: adding a General comment on status change.
This comment can also be made visible to other users. ThisThe example willbelow explainshould howgive you an idea (see bottom of page for screenshots):
- Freelancer A completes a job in Plint Subtitler
- Freelancer A changes status and leaves a General comment
- Adding a General comment automatically creates a Message thread with Project manager
- The thread is linked to the job
- An automatic notification email about this thread is sent to the PM
- The notification includes the General comment
- A standard "Job open" automatic email is also sent to the owner of the child job
- In this case Proofing, owned by Freelancer B
- This email does not contain the General comment
- However, Freelancer B can see the General comment under "Track changes" in Plint Subtitler along with the Milestone for the status change
- Freelancer B completes proofing in Plint Subtitler
- On status change, Freelancer B set Approved to "No" and adds a General comment
- This comment also results in a Message thread
- This one between Freelancer B and Project manager
- (Each freelancer can only see their own threads with the Project manager)
- Since the translation was not Approved, the parent job is reopened
- An email explaining this is automatically sent to Freelancer A
- This email contains the General comment
In summary
A status change always results in an email notification to the owner of the job which is now open for work. Depending on the scenario, this job may be a child job or the parent job.
Adding a General comment on status change also starts a Message thread with the Project manager.
It is up to the project manager how to handle these. If the information does not need to result in further action or communication, they can simply close the thread. If the information in the message thread should be easily available throughout the project, for other project managers as well, it's advisable to leave the message thread open. This will ensure that the message icon is shown in the joblist, for example.
About closing messages
The workflow described above as seen in a joblist in tree view
On status change, the Template creator leaves a General comment
The automatic message thread is marked in the joblist
And can be viewed from the job info page by both project manager and job owner
The owner of the child job, Proofing, gets a standard Job open email (which does not contain the General comment)
The owner of the Proofing job completes the review, changes status, chooses Approved=No and adds a General comment
The owner of the (reopened) parent is notified by email. This notification does contain the General comment.
The General comments can always be seen under "Track changes" for the respective Milestone, (if the job allows Track changes and Milestone comparison)







