Built-in communication tools

Support/Helpdesk, the Inbox and project forums. Which tool should be used for what?

The Inbox (Messages, Support and Notes to self)

image-1569482865057.png

The Inbox is your hub for two-way communication with other Plint users (or one-way in the case of Notes to self). Messages, Support cases and Notes to self each have a corresponding tab and share the following traits: 

Closed/Open, Read/Unread

The counter in the menu and on the tab indicates the number of open items. A red counter indicates one or more unread item. 

Threads can be Closed or Opened by either party at any point. Closing a Message thread or Note will simply change its status, removing it from the default view. It can still be found, and reopened if needed, by searching for Status: Closed. 

Messages and Notes linked to jobs?

More on this here

 

 

From General comments to Inbox: who sees what in a proofing workflow?

Besides literally starting a message thread with a project manager from a job info page, there is another step in Plint workflows which will automatically launch an Inbox message thread with the project manager: adding a General comment on status change.

This comment can also be made visible to other users. The example workflow below should give you an idea (see bottom of page for screenshots):

In summary

A status change always results in an email notification to the owner of the job which is now open for work. Depending on the scenario, this job may be a child job or the parent job. 

Adding a General comment on status change also starts a Message thread with the Project manager.

It is up to the project manager how to handle these. If the information does not need to result in further action or communication, they can simply close the thread. If the information in the message thread should be easily available throughout the project, for other project managers as well, it's advisable to leave the message thread open. This will ensure that the message icon is shown in the joblist, for example.  

About closing messages

The workflow described above as seen in a joblist in tree view

2022-06-30 14_50_49-Comments and messages – Plint.png

On status change, the Template creator leaves a General comment

2022-06-30 14_51_49-Template creation – Project Comments and messages - NuTxT-Web.png

The automatic message thread is marked in the joblist

2022-06-30 14_52_06-Comments and messages – Plint.png

And can be viewed from the job info page by both project manager and job owner

2022-06-30 14_52_48-Project – Plint.png

The owner of the child job, Proofing, gets a standard Job open email (which does not contain the General comment)

2022-06-30 14_53_21-Mailtrap - Safe Email Testing.png

The owner of the Proofing job completes the review, changes status, chooses Approved=No and adds a General comment

2022-06-30 15_03_37-Proofing – Project Comments and messages - NuTxT-Web.png

The owner of the (reopened) parent is notified by email. This notification does contain the General comment. 

2022-06-30 15_03_53-Mailtrap - Safe Email Testing.png

The General comments can always be seen under "Track changes" for the respective Milestone, (if the job allows Track changes and Milestone comparison)

2022-06-30 15_13_10-Proofing – Project Comments and messages - NuTxT-Web.png




Project forums

Each project comes with a built-in forum (unless you deselect that option when editing/creating the project). The Forum is accessed through the "bubble" icon in the project bar (regardless of login type).

image-1569416614131.png

On the forum page, previous topics are listed, along with an option to create a new topic. 

image-1569417139249.png

Who sees what?

Forums are meant for communication between multiple users. The simple rule is that anyone who has a job on the project also has access to the forum and will receive notifications about new topics.

(However, you can exclude a certain user from all forums. This is a setting on user level.) 

Email notifications

When a new topic is created, all users with access to the forum will be notified. To receive notifications about new posts in a topic, you can Follow (or "star") it. Replying to a topic will automatically make you follow it, but you can manually change this at any time.  

 

Support/Helpdesk

Any user can request help by going to Inbox / Support. Asking a question here will create a new ticket to be handled by a Plint user who is set up to handle Helpdesk issues. 

image-1569417413532.png

image-1569418003303.png

Setting up a Helpdesk

Staffing and preparing the built-in helpdesk consists of the following steps.

Using the Helpdesk

As a Helpdesk user, the first thing you see will be a tab showing new tickets. These, in turn, will reflect your support categories. 

image-1569418169400.pngClick on a ticket to see the details and assign it to yourself, or someone else. 

Initiating a support case for another user

If you have, for example, received a question from a system user over phone or email, you can initiate a support case and select the person in question as "User". The result will be exactly the same as if the same user had opened the case from within Plint. 

image-1569418620078.png

The search option / reusing searches

Clicking Search will bring to a search form where you can combine various criteria. A search can be saved and named to be easily reapplied at a later date. It will also be available as a quick search option on the "New tickets" tab. This allows you to switch quickly between your "standard issues" (those matching your categories) and more specialised searches. 

image-1569418573378.png

 

System emails

There are two basic types of emails sent by the system: automatic notifications and custom-created emails, normally sent to several users. 

Note: Inactive users will never receive system emails. 

Automatic job information emails

Forum updates and Inbox / Support events will typically result in automated email notifications to the user(s). 

In the following cases, automatic emails will also be sent. They contain a summary of the information usually relevant for this kind of notification and cannot be edited by the project manager. If a person is assigned several jobs which are the subject of a notification, a single email will be sent, summarising the information. 

image-1572266883811.png

Bulk emails from People page

Bulk email can be sent from the People page, targeting every user that matches the current filter. Email content can be created from scratch in the message window, or you can create an email template under Tools & Data to quickly reuse common messages. 

How to use:

image-1572267374261.png

 

Help articles

Under Help / Documentation, help articles targeted to different users can be shown. Here's how to edit and create them. 

2021-04-20-14_26_13-Help-texts---Plint-Demo.png

Editing and sharing Help article

As a Workbench user, or Manager with sufficient privileges, you can create and edit articles under Tools & Data / Help texts.
Please keep the following in mind.

2021-04-20-14_27_58-Help-texts---Plint-Demo.png

Visibility criteria

Various criteria can be used to determine who sees a certain article – not unlike the criteria used to assign work. To facilitate this and create a clear structure, you can start by creating a main (parent) article with certain requirements. And child article attached to this will only be shown to user who match the requirements for the parent article. 

Tip: start with a main requirement for the parent article, such as a keyword or tag. You can then add child articles targeted to different users using additional requirements. Like so:

Only users with both tag "Approved for project A" and target language Norwegian will see the second child article. 

Specifying availability

In order to help project planning, any user can add information about when they are not available for work. This is done by adding an event under: Account icon / Profile & settings / Schedule

image-1581694410851.png


Project manager tip:

You can show the Schedule column under People to immediately see the near term availability of all selected users.